Week 1

What’s Up Everyone- I made it to the Ghana MTC. After 25 Hrs of Flying including two Layovers we arrived in Africa at 8 Pm the day after I left America. Total Travel adjusting for the Time Change- 32 hrs- Yuck!! I now understand what Jet Lag feels like….
I’m going to be honest with you guys, the MTC is Hard. Getting used to everything can be a bit challenging and for those of you getting ready to go out I want you to know, you WILL get homesick! I promise you that. You will question why you decided to do this but just remember that you aren’t doing this for yourself, it’s the Lord’s work and you are the lucky one chosen to be his representative.
So Ghana is dirty and nasty and just straight up gross. They throw trash everywhere, they don’t care who’s watching, they will go to the bathroom anywhere they want. Then even have to put up signs that say “DO NOT URINATE HERE”. The signs are everywhere that is remotely nice. But hey, at least I have bathrooms and running water for another two weeks! 🙂 I would say the hardest thing about the Ghana MTC is sleeping. We are 7 hours ahead of Arizona here so when all of you are going to bed, I am getting up for class. Staying awake in class is hard but you learn so much in each one that you don’t want to miss anything.
Tomorrow, Thursday 8-11-16, Elder Bednar is coming to our MTC to visit with us and teach us in person!! No Freaking way!! I’m so excited to hear him in person and maybe even meet him. I will let you know all about it next week.
I already had an opportunity to pass out a Book of Mormon and give my Testimony to someone and it wasn’t an investigator from the MTC. When we arrived at the Airport there were several white guys getting off the plane together. It was a sight I am sure for the people. One of the Security Guards at the Airport who was watching the lines asked me as I passed what we were doing there. I explained to him we were Missionaries from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. He began to ask me about the church so right there I gave him a copy of the Book of Mormon, bore my testimony about it’s truthfulness, and asked him if he would read it. The best part, a couple minutes later when I looked back at him, the line was gone and he was sitting there reading. I went back over to him and told him where and how he could find the missionaries to teach him more. Honestly, it was such a cool experience to have right out of the airplane. I can’t describe the feeling it gave me.
The first few days of food at the MTC were deceiving lol! They gave us Hamburgers and American style food. I was just thinking this isn’t that bad and we transitioned to local food. What the heck are we eating. Sometimes I am not sure but it’s food so I partake. Guess I better get used to it now. My companion is Elder Tarpeh and he is from Liberia. He is quiet and his English is difficult to understand. We struggle to communicate but I honestly love the guy. He loves white people and is so humble it’s amazing. Since we got to the MTC so late on Thursday, and the MTC is over capacity right now, they put the other two guys from Arizona together at companions, and me and Elder Tarpeh in a room away from the others, sort of off by ourselves. The blessing, we get our own bathroom! No sharing with an entire floor!
Well I gotta go, there are many people who want to use the computers to email home. I love you all and miss you a bunch. I will share my favorite scripture this week. 1 Nehpi 19:9 ” And the world, because of their iniquity, shall judge him to be a thing of naught; wherefore they scourge him, and he suffereth it; and they smite him, and he suffereth it; Yea, they spit upon him, and he suffereth it, because of his kindness and long-suffering towards the children of men”
Elder Ryland Turner
( Elda Turna as they say in Africa)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

