Week 2

Kusheo!! (Hello)
So this week has been great I got to know everyone so much better and I feel like my whole MTC is like one big family! Everyone here is so nice! But I want to be honest with you guys. For those of you choosing to go out to serve I’m so proud of you. But I want you guys to know that it is hard. You will want to quit! Sometimes you wonder why you chose to do what you’re doing. There will be days when you think you finally over being homesick and then the next will be one of the worst days ever. You will want to go home and just go back to normal life. But I encourage you to just push through it. Life is sometimes hard. It only gets better when you put in the work! You will learn so much and feel the Spirit so strong. I know I have and I am so thankful for the chance I have to be out here. One thing that helps me is I leave a picture of some of the most important people in my life by my bed and when I go to sleep I leave my tag right next to it so when I wake up in the morning and go to put that tag on I think of all the people who have changed my life. And you realize you represent more than just yourself, you represent all those people and you also represent the man who gave his life for you. Jesus Christ.
Elder Bednar came to visit us this week and he was amazing. Honestly, the spirit you feel when he talks is incredible. He mostly did a question and answer session and his responses were so genuine. He said some things that made several of us wonder if there is a new area about to be opened up here in Africa. He said I want you all to recognize you never know where you will be transferred too. Just remember, when you read your call it said “you have been called to the work”, and assigned to a certain area. Where you go or get assigned is not as important as what you have been called to do,  Represent your Heavenly Father and his son Jesus Christ as messengers here on Earth. We were told there are so many missionaries being called to Sierra Leone, not only those of us here, but another 25 are in the Provo MTC also. Maybe I will get a chance to serve other areas as well and introduce the Gospel to people who have never had it. That would be awesome!
Now on another note the MTC food here in Ghana isn’t the best. I would do a lot for some American food right now but you just gotta get used to it. It’s all spicy and starts to taste the same,  but oh well haha! One of the weirdest things I’ve eaten so far is the natives here when they finish their chicken,  they also eat the bone too. None of the Americans will do that because we are used to throwing the bones away. But one day I was sitting across from a native and he asked if I was going to eat the bone. When I said “heck no, in America nobody does that!” He laughed and said you’re in Africa now, we eat. Anyway he got me to eat it. Let’s just say nicely I would rather not do that again, or at least for a long while….

I’ve been in Africa for two weeks and I think almost all I have had to eat is chicken andrice, Oh and one chicken bone haha!

I know I have shared this scripture with some of you but I had a very personal and spiritual experience while using this in one of my lessons. I taught an “investigator” this week, which is actually an instructor at the MTC pretending to want to know about the gospel. Well during my lesson with her she said she had a “friend” die that day and was struggling. We both thought she was acting because they make stuff up all the time to get us to think on our feet. So I taught the plan of salvation and used the scripture below and the spirit hit us both so strong. We were both crying as I testified of the truthfulness of the gospel and the knowledge I had that she will see her friend again. Later that day as we were in class she told us the truth was, her friend had passed away this morning and the lesson we taught her was honest and sincere and really what she needed to hear. It’s crazy how exact the Lord’s timing is.
D&C 122:7-9.

And if thou shouldst be cast into the pit, or into the hands of murderers, and the sentence of death passed upon thee; if thou be cast into the deep; if the billowing surge conspire against thee; if fierce winds become thine enemy; if the heavens gather blackness, and all the elements combine to hedge up the way; and above all, if the very jaws of hell shall gape open the mouth wide after thee, know thou, my son, that all these things shall give thee experience, and shall be for thy good.

 The Son of Man hath descended below them all. Art thou greater than he?

 Therefore, hold on thy way, and the priesthood shall remain with thee; for their bounds are set, they cannot pass. Thy days are known, and thy years shall not be numbered less; therefore, fear not what man can do, for God shall be with you forever and ever.

It’s one of my favorite scriptures! We are never alone no matter what happens in our lives. I love each and every single one of you and I miss you guys so much! Make sure to write me I’d love to hear from all of you!!

One more week and I’m off to Sierra Leone  where I can really begin to work and be helpful. I’m so stoked!! Other than when I went through the Temple the first time, I have felt the spirit more here than I ever have before in my life. It has been amazing.

Elder Turner

One thought on “Week 2

  1. Everyone is thinking of you also. Glad things are going well. Thanks for the language lesson and pictures for those of us who will never have the chance to experience that area of the world….be safe
    Aunt Barb

    Like

Leave a Reply

