2 Months Down!!

HAPPY FREAKING BIRTHDAY MOM I LOVE YOU SO MUCH!!!!! I wish I could be there for you right now 😦  (but hey you only have one more birthday without me!)
Also HUGE THANKS to my Grandma and Papa for the two boxes of treats. I seriously almost cried while opening them because I was so Happy!!!! I am enjoying life right now!
So it’s pretty good here in Africa! This week it rained a ton! Which means it was really humid and yeah not fun! One night the lightning was so bad that I literally just laid in bed for a solid two hours just trying to fall back asleep but it was impossible! Its crazy here! When it rains it pours!! And it rains for a really long time!! Like weeks and week straight.
I eat a lot of really weird food, like Fufu, it’s like a weird food that you don’t chew you just swallow and its really hard to eat! I eat Chicken feet and bones, oh and cow fat and full crabs and a bunch of other weird food I never imagined eating!!
So this week we have an upcoming baptism on Saturday and me and my companion have about 5 maybe 6 people ready to be baptized!! I’m so excited for them!! I’ve gotten to connect with all of them really well! They are definitely ready!!
I decided I want to tell you guys some of the things I have realized while coming on a mission and why I decided to come. I know coming on a mission isn’t the easiest thing to do. I could be in school, working, with my friends, doing anything I want so why did I leave everything to come here? I knew it wouldn’t be easy and honestly its harder than I thought it would be. But I came out because I had a job to do and I felt like its something that I owe to the Lord. But you will quickly come to learn that a mission isn’t for the Lord. It isn’t even for the people that have been prepared to be taught. A mission is for you! It’s a chance for you to better yourself and learn to deal with people. I was told while in the MTC that “The number one investigator you need to teach is yourself”. The mission will give you experiences that nothing else can give you. Is it a sacrifice to come out here? Of course! But I came out to serve the Lord and his people, help in the expansion of the Gospel, and bring people to Christ. But we all need to realize that a mission also changes the missionary! It gives them new perspectives, new attitudes, and a whole new love for the Gospel! I am so glad that I get the chance to be here! And even though there are times that you want to just give up and go home, fighting through challenges is one of the things you learn! Our mission Motto is “We can do hard things”  As President Gordon B Hinkley’s father said “Forget yourself and go to work!” That’s the easiest way you can describe what you need to do on a mission.
I love this Gospel and the message and comfort it brings into our lives! I love all of you guys and I am thankful for all of you and everything you have done for me! I’m here for anyone who needs someone to talk to, just send me an email and I will respond next P Day!! I’ll talk to you guys next week!!
Love Elder Turner
Leave a Reply

