Week 34 – Power of Prayer

Hey everyone!! This week was another good week in good ol’ Salone!  So I want to do something a little different this week and I’m going to tell you guys a story that I was told by a lady back in Makeni and I always thought it was kinda personal for her so I never wanted to share it but it really teaches a strong lesson so I would like to share it with you guys.
So this story takes place during the time of the civil war here, about.  This woman and her family were hiding away from the rebels and one morning they were caught as well as some neighbors.  They were lined up on the dirt road down on their knees and hands tied and one by one the rebels started to just slaughter these people with a machete for no reason except the tribe they were born into.  She said all she did was put her head down and ask God harder than she ever had, to please save her and her family.  As soon as the man got to her he told her to stand up and take her family and run into the bush and that he’d better never see them again.  It was super sad story but what we can learn from it is amazing.
This lady is one of my recent converts and it’s one of the strongest members in the church that I’ve met.  As she told me this story (while she was in investigator) she had tears in her eyes and she told me and my companion about the power of prayer.  It was by far one of the most spiritual lessons I’ve ever had in my life and we weren’t even the ones teaching.  We were being taught!!  For the 8 months I’ve been out here on my mission if there’s one thing I’ve learned it’s the power of prayer.  Personal and family prayer are essential for spiritual growth.  So I encourage all if you do not have a routine for personal and family prayers please get into one find a time every day to do it.   I promise you will see the blessing in your life more clearly and in depth.
I would go on more about conference but this letter is already really long.   On a lighter note… I have now found a man who makes Pepe soup and he puts monkey meat in it!!!! I’m really tempted to try it out!!
Anyway I love you all so much and I hope to hear from you guys soon!! Doesn’t matter if I know you well or barely at all I love to hear from you guys!!
Sorry for no pictures I’ll make up for it next week!!!!
Leave a Reply

